Hello from Upstate SC

Homesteading & Country Living Forum

Help Support Homesteading & Country Living Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

11B4X

Awesome Friend
Neighbor
I live in South Carolina with my wife of 13 years and two sons. I'm getting ready to retire from the Army, I am a combat infantryman with too many hard tours far away from my family, so I am hanging up the uniform in a couple of years. I transitioned to the reserve recently, so I could start preparing for civilian life, where I am a drill sergeant.

I have a degree in Crisis Counseling and am planning on getting started on a masters next spring. My current civilian job is working in network operations for the phone company but my passion is in helping vets with PTSD.

We started prepping a couple of years ago, I've seen too much war in my life and want us to be ready if SHTF here in the US. We currently have food and water to last us just over 45 days and I keep very nicely stocked 72 hour BOBs in our vehicles.

Being a door kicker and trigger puller by trade, I have focused more on weapons and equipment, stocking ammo and outfitting my weapons with quality optics. I taught my wife combat shooting techniques (reflexive fire, stress shooting, weapons retention, CQB, etc) with the pistol and combat shotgun, we start training her on the AR this summer.

I started training my 8 year old on the compound bow and will start with firearms next year if he continues to show maturity.

We live within 20 miles of a very mountainous, heavily wooded region of the state, right now the plan is to bug out to the mountains, I was raised in the country and have spent untold hours training in the mountains over the last 16 years in the Army, I feel confident we would be able to hold up there for quite awhile.

I plan to continue stockpiling non perishable foods until we have about 6 months worth.